Recentering your focus

Yesterday I met with a new student who wants to improve his ACT score in order to hopefully get a scholarship for college. While we discussed ACT strategy and how to improve his score, we also discussed his goals in regards to college, studying, career and beyond. While the ACT score is important to a certain point, I greatly enjoy helping my students think about the future and broaden their ideas to incorporate more than just what school they want to go to or what major they want to study. While these things are important, it’s good to focus on the overall picture of their future. Where do they see themselves after college? What are they passionate about? In my opinion, at the end of the day, life and career are about passion. I greatly enjoy tutoring and helping others. I find joy in my everyday. I hope to help my students find that same joy in pursuing their passions.

I hope to help my students center their focus on what drives them to be the best they can be.

16807259_1406183739433769_6244047188610274811_n

 

Recentering your focus was originally published on Developing Explorers

Leave a Reply

